Musical comedy ‘The Prom’ dances into TPAC Feb. 22-27

Everyone’s invited to the joyous Broadway hit musical The Prom when it debuts at Tennessee Performing Arts Center’s Jackson Hall Feb. 22-27.

Single tickets for The Prom go on sale on Friday, Dec. 10, at 10 a.m. at, by phone at 615-782-4040 and in person at the TPAC Box Office, 505 Deaderick St., in downtown Nashville. For groups of 10 or more, call 615-782-4060.

The Prom, which made its world premiere at The Alliance Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia, in 2016, is a musical comedy about big Broadway stars on a mission to change the world and the love they discover that unites them all. Variety raves, “It’s so full of happiness that you think your heart is about to burst” while The Hollywood Reporter says, “It’s comic gold!”

The Prom was the 2019 Drama Desk Award winner for Outstanding Musical. It stars Kaden Kearney (they/them) as “Emma, High School Student, Banned from the Prom;” Kalyn West as “Alyssa Greene, Head of Student Council with a Secret;” Courtney Balan as “Tony Award Winner Dee Dee Allen;” Patrick Wetzel as “Drama Desk Award Winner Barry Glickman;” Emily Borromeo as “Angie Dickinson, Broadway Chorine;” Bud Weber as “Trent Oliver, Esteemed Julliard Graduate/Cater Waiter;” Sinclair Mitchell as “Mr. Hawkins, High School Principal;” Ashanti J’Aria as “Mrs. Greene, President of the PTA” and Shavey Brown as “Sheldon Saperstein, Broadway’s Press Agent with a Plan.”

Rounding out the ensemble are Jordan Alexander, Gabrielle Beckford, Ashley Bruce, Olivia Rose Cece, Maurice Dawkins, Jordan De Leon, Shawn Alynda Fisher, James Caleb Grice, Megan Grosso, Chloe Rae Kehm, Braden Allen King, Brandon J. Large, Christopher McCrewell, Adriana Negron, Lexie Plath, Brittany Nicole Williams, Thad Turner Wilson and Josh Zacher.

The Prom, Music by Matthew Sklar, Book by Bob Martin and Chad Beguelin, Lyrics by Chad Beguelin, Directed and Choreographed by Casey Nicholaw
cast: Kaden Kearney (Emma), Kalyn West (Alyssa Greene), Courtney Balan (Dee Dee Allen), Patrick Wetzel (Barry Glickman), Emily Borromeo (Angie Dickinson), Bud Weber (Trent Oliver),
Sinclair Mitchell (Mr. Hawkins), Ashanti J’Aria (Mrs. Greene) and Shavey Brown (Sheldon Saperstein)

Directed and choreographed by Tony Award® winner Casey Nicholaw (“Aladdin,” “Mean Girls”), The Prom features a book by Tony Award® winner Bob Martin (“Elf,” “The Drowsy Chaperone”) and Tony Award® nominee Chad Beguelin (“Aladdin”), music by Tony Award® nominee Matthew Sklar (“Elf the Musical”) and lyrics by Tony Award® nominee Chad Beguelin with scenic design by Tony Award® winner Scott Pask (“The Book of Mormon”), costume design by Tony Award® winner Ann Roth (“The Book of Mormon”) and Matthew Pachtman (“The Book of Mormon”), lighting design by Tony Award® winner Natasha Katz (“Diana: The Musical”), sound design by Tony Award® winner Brian Ronan (“Mrs. Doubtfire,” “Mean Girls”), wig and hair design by Josh Marquette (“Pretty Woman,” “Means Girls”), make-up design by Milagros Medina-Cerdeira (“Mean Girls”), orchestrations by Tony Award® winner Larry Hochman (“Hello, Dolly!”), music supervision by Mary-Mitchell Campbell (“Mean Girls”) and casting by The Telsey Office. The Prom is based on an original concept by Jack Viertel.

For more information, please visit or find the show on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Page Tags: